Olive blossoms on Stone.
Olive blossoms on Stone. Location: Terra Selvatica, Fratticola Selvatica, Umbria, Italy. 2016.

Hard and soft. Life and death. Gain and loss. Darkness and light. Nature and Man. Obscured and clear. Old and near.

This week’s photo challenge is to focus on opposites and conflicting elements found in the world.

Conflict, the story of our lives. We work hard to gain much in life and yet, we lose much by working so hard. We miss out on enjoying the little things because we are too focused on the big ones.

It’s been awhile since I’ve written. I’ve been going through a dry spell as I search for answers to the direction my life needs to take. Conflicting emotions create chaos in a world mixed with happiness and sadness, pain and pleasure. The opposites of my life.

Do we ever really conquer the negativity and find only positive?

Science would argue probably not, since we are programmed with many more negative emotions than positive ones.

Me? I’m completely unsure. All I know, is that I strive to live the best life possible on this constantly changing road. I’m not always happy with the changes but I am learning to accept them. Meanwhile, it’s time to get back to writing.

Today, I’ll continue to reflect on the merits of opposites and leave you with my interpretations of the photo challenge. Please feel free to share your interpretations of opposites or to discuss my interpretations. I am always open for healthy discussion.

Wildflowers growing through walls.
Wildflowers growing through walls. Location: Terra Selvatica, Fratticola Selvatica, Umbria, Italy. 2016.
Fog filling the olive tree clad valleys of the Umbrian hills.
Fog filling the olive tree-clad valleys of the Umbrian hills. Location: Terra Selvatica, Fratticola Selvatica, Umbria, Italy. 2016.

Opposites Photo Challenge Links:

Opposites: The Daily Post Weekly Photo Challenge

Pride from Zora Zebic

Reality and a Rendition on Reality from Freddy’s Photo Project

Opposites from Figlio del Giafuaro 

Opposites in Paris from Almost Italian

 

2 thoughts on “Opposites: #WeeklyPhotoChallenge

Leave a Reply

