the HAES® files: On the Cushion and Off the Hook — An Exploration of Yoga, Meditation, and Body Positivity


Health At Every Size® Blog

by Rachel Smith

I remember the exact moment when I realized that real growth had nothing at all to do with the size of my body. I was sitting in a meditation center with my teacher, listening to him answer questions as I worked to let go of the constant, body-shaming, diet-obsessed, “I will never be good enough,” noise in my head. I took a deep breath, one of many as I had been practicing regular meditation for quite a while at that point, and I felt something release in my heart. A huge sense of freedom and relief rushed through my body. “Oh,” I thought. And that was it. As clear as day, I knew in no uncertain terms that I was fundamentally OK exactly as I was in that moment. The trauma and drama in my head just dissolved, and not in the way I thought it would…

View original post 1,116 more words

Leave a Reply

