Day 4 of the Writing 201 Poetry class uses the prompt animal combined with the concrete poetry and enjambment style. Concrete poetry uses words to create an image and enjambment splits the sentence in the middle, placing them on different lines and in different formats or spacing.

At first I did not think I was even going to try but then I got inspired by all my wonderful memories of my old day Patrick. Patrick was a big mahogany colored irish setter, who chased the shadows of butterflies (he never looked up and realized them were over his head), listened without judgement and offered plenty of unconditional love for 13 years. I still tear up because I miss him, so here is my Ode to the Dog, my friend, my child and my companion.

Dog shaped poem

2 thoughts on “Poetry Day 4: Ode to the Dog

Leave a Reply

