Daily Prompt: Fireside Chat

What person whom you don’t know very well in real life — it could be a blogger whose writing you enjoy, a friend you just recently made, etc. — would you like to have over for a long chat in which they tell you their life story?

Life stories mold us into the people we become. I fascinated about knowing what makes people tick, so knowing a person’s life story helps fill in the clues about why they might act or think they do. Life stories give me ideas about why a person developed into who they are today.

While I do not mind hearing life stories, I do need them in small doses. Many can get a little dry and boring. Plus, I like to digest and process what I have heard before being overloaded with too much information.

I do not have a particular person in mind for this fireside chat. Instead, I would rather leave my options open. Just, Monday this week, I met a wonderful couple in the lobby of our hotel. I ended up eating breakfast with them while I listened to the old rancher’s story. The wife nodded along, listening, adding her comments here and there where he left out important facts, in her perspective.

They lived in rural Kansas, raised Angus beef and had the usual hard ranch life. He barely used a cell phone, one of those old flip phone styles, and did not know how to check his voice mail. She was quiet, overshadowed by his rambunctious attitude, but clearly equipped with opinions of her own.

It was an interesting conversation. I left wanting to know more about these people. I learned so much in just a small amount of time. It is stories like these, that keep me coming back for more.

https://dailypost.wordpress.com/dp_prompt/fireside-chat/

5 thoughts on “Life Stories: What Makes Us Tick

  1. We took a Viking cruise once, and it was a perfect way of conversing with people. I’m the same way. I get overloaded with a concentrated brain dump, and then forget all of the interesting points.

  2. While on a cruise, my daughter and I were sitting at one of the few tables available in the shade topside, when two older women asked to share our table so they wouldn’t melt in the sun. A few minutes of chatting and we were with two women who were survivors of the Holocaust! An amazing an unforgettable moment indeed.

Leave a Reply

