Daily Prompt: Ready, Set, Done!

Our ten-minute free-write is back for another round! Tap away on whatever comes to mind, no filters attached. (Feel free to edit later, or just publish as-is).

I’ve started out with nothing to say for this ten-minute free-write. I’m just supposed to type away for ten minutes about whatever subject comes to mind. Maybe I’m all tapped out on what to write because my brain is cluttered with the gardening articles I’ve been working away on for my paying job. I have to admit to getting a little bored with them and am looking for paying work on subjects that feed me, not just drain the soul.

It’s not that I don’t love to write about gardening, I do. It’s writing for this particular contract is pretty dry and less than appealing for feeding the heart and soul. Gardening is such a spiritual practice of helping life to grow and succeed. It also calms my mind when I focus on the simple things of pruning, weeding and mulching. It’s also the creative part that captures the artist in me.

I know work is not always about what we like to do but I did set out on the journey of finding work that fills the heart, brain and soul with laughter, joy and satisfaction. I’m still on that search and know it will happen. This job is just temporary to help pay the bills while I figure out how to make my writing bring in a livable income.

I read about self-publishing and consider writing about my own experiences but then I cringe. Do I really have anything special to tell the world, it already doesn’t know? Am I so special that I have the right to share my experiences in life with others? Will it actually do anyone any good? Is it just a waste of time to think about this idea? If I sound as lost and confused as the little birds in my photo above, it’s because I am.

I really don’t know. It’s funny when I started this posting, I really didn’t have anything to say and look how I’ve managed to ramble on about my hopes, dreams, dislikes and worries. It’s interesting how the not knowing led to such thoughts. It just shows how the brain works on these ideas all the time and because of this free-write, I let them out for the world to see.

This posting is completely about me, so I see a lot of I’s showing up throughout. Enough that it makes me feel a little self-absorbed. And with that, it’s been ten minutes. Not as hard as I thought, maybe I should try this method more often, such as participate in the NaBloPoMo Challenge. See there’s still  I’s showing up!!!

http://dailypost.wordpress.com/dp_prompt/ready-set-done-6/

4 thoughts on “My Ten-Minute Free-Write Rambling

Leave a Reply

