I’m Worth More than Four Minutes


Daily Prompt: Flash Talk

You’re about to enter a room full of strangers, where you will have exactly four minutes to tell a story that would convey who you really are. What’s your story?

“Hi I’m Heidi and I’ll be here until I’m ready to leave if any of you are interested in getting to know me.”

There’s my introduction and the only part of the story I’m willing to share upon walking into a room full of strangers. No one can really learn about me in four minutes so I’m not going to waste my time attempting to explain myself in four minutes and fail miserably. If any of this room of strangers wants to know about me, they will be willing to commit the time into finding out.

It takes time and patience to really get to know someone. It’s a commitment that one has to willing to apply one’s self to. I can promise the rewards will be worth the effort, although it seems few are willing to give it a true try.

We live in such a shallow society where people believe they know someone through social media connections but I can promise you most of those “friends” don’t know you, don’t care to get to know you and certainly won’t be there for the tough times if even through the good ones.

I’m a complex person. I’m also a little gun-shy about letting people get too close too fast, so anyone who truly wants to get to know me will be willing to take the time and open themselves up as well. I’m not into drama, lying and game playing. I just enjoy being myself and people who are themselves without feeling the need to put on an act.

So let’s get back to old fashion friendships of hanging out, talking, enjoying each other’s company and actually communicating. Let’s lose the shallow connections and really get to know others. Spend those four minutes and quite a few more. In the end, we’ll both have a deeper respect for each other and maybe even come out with a new friend. After all, one can never have too many true friends.

http://dailypost.wordpress.com/dp_prompt/flash-talk/

2 thoughts on “I’m Worth More than Four Minutes

  1. Hello, Heidi!
    I enjoyed reading your post. You are so right about society. It takes me awhile to trust someone. My “wall” is up until I get to know someone. Once I know someone we are usually friends for life. Keep up the great writing.
    Have a super day!
    Laurie Jackson

    1. Hi Laurie,
      I know exactly how you feel. We just live in an age of such superficialness that it makes it hard to really to get know someone anymore. I’m always looking for those people who are going to stick around and just be themselves. Thanks for your awesome words.

Leave a Reply

