Nothing in Common Except DNA


Daily Prompt: Delayed Contact

How would you get along with your sibling(s), parent(s), or any other person you’ve known for a long time — if you only met them for the first time today?

It’s no secret that I’m estranged from my family, other than the sister closest to me. I refused to continue putting up with their abusive actions. It was and has not been an easy choice but it is the right one for me because it’s the healthy one. No one has to put up with abuse even from family members.

Unfortunately, this makes my answer to this question an easy one. I would not get along with them. We just don’t have the same values or beliefs in how to live and treat others. I would attempt to keep the encounter polite and civil but I really have no expectations they would do the same. It’s already been over 5 years since I talked to any of them last and yet I am still a topic of angry negative conversation for them.

I really don’t understand what they could have to talk about me since they don’t know me, never took the time to know me and now it’s been years since we last spoke. They even talk bad about my husband which they only met briefly for about three hours at the beginning of our relationship. I realize my sister gives them little updates the same as she gives me but why would you continue to talk crap about someone you don’t even know?

I’ve spent a great deal of time in learning how to choose better people to keep in my life since then, which is why I know I would not get along with any of them. I attempt to stay away from people who talk bad about others. I’m not claiming that I’m perfect on that but I do try to avoid bad gossip and talk of others. It’s just not a good thing to do and does nothing to improve life or attitude.

I also attempt to be polite to others and avoid to being overly rude. Of course, I have my moments and I do get frustrated which comes out at times. I’m not claiming to be a saint but I have worked hard at learning to think and act differently because what’s the use of dragging myself down over the actions or words of others.

And I don’t go around spreading untrue stories and making up shit about others. Why does anyone do that? It’s something I have never understood but is a common habit of my family’s.

The best thing I can do for my life is to keep them where they are and focus on my life and making it the best it can possibly be. I wish them all the best and send out my usual plea of,  Why can’t you just be happy for me or just leave me alone if you can’t do that? It’s really not right to treat people the way you guys do.

http://dailypost.wordpress.com/dp_prompt/delayed-contact/

2 thoughts on “Nothing in Common Except DNA

  1. I came to the same conclusion concerning my Dad. Certain people in our lives teach us about boundaries – what we should not accept into our lives. It is best to learn that lesson as early as one possibly can.

Leave a Reply

