Dawn of a New Day


Daily Prompt: New Dawn

How often do you get to (or have to) be awake for sunrise? Tell us about what happened the last time you were up so early (or late…).

It’s a rare day that I don’t beat the sun out of bed. Hubby works early so we’re up early. I generally don’t mind, although an extra half hour would make all the difference in the world for me. For some reason, my body and mind function well with getting up at 6 am but not so great with 5:30.

I love being up early. It’s always exciting to watch the skies lighten from black to gray and finally the blues of the coming day. The clouds streak the sky with pinks, purples, oranges and whites. Sometimes, the sun rises up with a red glow, while others are orange or yellow. One never knows what to expect because each day dawns completely different from the last.

The bird wake up with gentle little chirps and peeps that transform into loud songs as the day brightens. People rushing to work begin to appear on the sidewalks outside as I pop on a pot of water on the stove to heat for coffee and tea.

Most mornings I wander out on the balcony to check our balcony garden, stopping to sniff the fragrant petunias that cascade over the railing before moving on to see the plump ripening cherry tomatoes. I brush the rosemary as I drizzle water into the pot, releasing aromatic oils into the air. It’s still just a little chilly but I love the crisp morning air.

Sunrises are all about promises. The promise of a new day, a fresh start, a chance to do something different today than I did yesterday. Nothing will be exactly the same and yet sometimes it seems that nothing really changes. But as the blacks and grays change over to blues and that burning orb of light spreads its rays over the land, I’m excited once again as promises of new adventures lie ahead.

http://dailypost.wordpress.com/dp_prompt/new-dawn/

Leave a Reply

