“What do you mean it’s in the hot tub?”


Daily Prompt:Head Turners

We often hear strange snippets of conversation as we walk through public spaces. When was the last time you overheard something so interesting, ridiculous, or disturbing you really wanted to know what it was all about?

People fascinate me. I really attempt to not eavesdrop on conversations of others but so many will discuss just about anything in public now and then get offended if you join in or they realize you’re listening. It’s not intentional eavesdropping, it’s just a public place and I do have hearing that works rather well.

It’s not that I’m intentionally listening, it’s just hard to miss the conversation when we’re standing in line at the market, sitting on a crowded bus or eating dinner in a quiet restaurant and the table next to us isn’t all that quiet with their conversation. I rarely join but sometimes I find the topic intriguing and since you are discussing it in a public place, I feel I have a right to join in if I choose to.

I think reality TV and social media has made it so people forget how public they make their business known to the outside world. Most of the time, I’m like “TMI.” It really is too much info for me and much of it I would rather not know. But please don’t get offended if others happen to hear your conversations. If you didn’t want anyone else to know maybe you should have considered where you were talking about the topic.

Many times I’ve overheard strange comments or topics of conversation that really did piqué my interest and many other times I would rather have not heard it at all. The most recent comment that intrigued my interest was walking along the sidewalk in my morning walk. I had my earbuds in but could still heard this loudly exclaimed remark.

“What do you mean it’s in the hot tub?”

I looked over and a mother was standing on the doorstep of their home talking to her small son. The son couldn’t have been more than 6 or 7 years old and obviously he was being honest with his mommy on where he left or done something. I couldn’t help but smile because the possibilities of what he had done were endless and the horrifying expression on the mom’s face and in her voice plainly said it all. While I wasn’t celebrating her discomfort, I was reliving the age-old scene that plays out in every home with young children.

In my home growing up, my mom’s comment to me was:

“What do you mean it’s in the toilet?”

And no, I’m not explaining!

http://dailypost.wordpress.com/dp_prompt/head-turners/

Leave a Reply

