No Bandwagon Beliefs Here


The Daily Prompt: Breaking the Ice

The internet has recently been swept up by the ALS Ice Bucket Challenge. Is there a cause — social, political, cultural, or other — you passionately believe in? Tell us how you got involved — or why you don’t get involved.

I passionately believe in a lot of things. Human rights, women’s rights, gay and lesbian rights, animal rights, the right for everyone to have health care and food; basically the rights for all people to live in a world where they are treated as equals to another regardless of skin color, gender, sexual preference, thought process, beliefs, etc. I also believe all people are entitled to have the basic necessities in life of food, clean water, shelter and health care, no matter where you live or who you are and we all are responsible for ensuring it happens for everyone.

I find it embarrassing to live in a country with so much and yet I constantly hear people complaining over the Affordable Care Act which gives basic health care to everyone. Health care is a necessity, it is not an option. Having health care means we drop all the costs of our over blotted health care system because when people are kept healthy they have less need for emergency trips to the doctors which cost so much more than basic health care. While I don’t believe the ACA is the complete answer, I do believe it is a step in the right direction for finding the right one and soon everyone will have affordable health care as a society such as the US should have.

That being said, I also don’t jump on every trending bandwagon that comes by with its waving flags and people shouting join us or you don’t fit in. I’ve mentioned before, I’m a behind the scenes person, more of one of the people who actually sees that things get done, not out in the front under the spotlight looking for fame. I think bandwagons are a menace to the real issue.

People don’t do their research, they just believe whatever spiel is being pumped into popular media at the moment and quite often the facts are not completely correct. Yes, it’s nice when attention gets drawn to an issue which has been forgotten or needs more notice but there also has to be accountability for knowing the facts as well and understanding what the real issue is.

I have friends who spout crap to me from the latest bandwagon trend and if I say anything to the contrary of what they have heard, they immediately jump down my throat that I’m wrong and need to check my facts or ideas at the door and get with the program. That’s just it, it’s a program of often less than factual ideas and notions which can cause more harm than good over the long haul.

I do support causes, even some of the popular ones, but not until I check my facts and make sure it’s something I agree with first. And I don’t follow the latest trends or bandwagons just because they came by. The ice bucket challenge is good and all because it draws attention to a little known disease but what good does it really do when the majority of people participating in it have no idea what ALS is and are just dumping icy water over their heads so they can post the video on social media sites and be part of the trend?

Education is the key to solving all the world’s problems. I choose to educate myself and to support the causes I believe in without making a splashy entrance because most often it’s slow and steady support that wins the issue, not the latest trend which last for 15 seconds before everyone hops over to the next bandwagon.

http://dailypost.wordpress.com/dp_prompt/breaking-the-ice/

One thought on “No Bandwagon Beliefs Here

Leave a Reply

