I’ll be Me and You be You


The Daily Prompt: Tunnel Vision

You’ve been given the ability to build a magical tunnel that will quickly and secretly connect your home with the location of your choice — anywhere on Earth. Where’s the other end of your tunnel?

My tunnel would lead to a place where I’m loved and accepted for who I am. I’m not a difficult person to get along with but I seem to make people uncomfortable for some reason. I’m really not always sure why.

It’s seems that being loving, kind and honest are not traits readily accepted in the world I live in. People view it with suspicion and can never seem to get past the idea that I don’t want anything from them. Well nothing other than friendship and acceptance. They also have real troubles with the honest part. I have the tendency to speak the truth even in hard situations and the truth is not always easy to hear, even for myself.

Another reason for less acceptance is I tend to follow the road less traveled, sometimes even veer off the worn path and find my own way through life. I have thoughts, ideas and opinions that don’t always match up to popular thought processes. That also makes people uncomfortable because people get so caught in the things they know and the easy way, they go against anyone who doesn’t fit that description. Sometimes I feel it’s a curse and think it would be easier to fit in if I could just be a sheep.

BUT, I don’t want to be a sheep! I like being me, most of the time. It does get hard at times because I find people I like and they don’t stay around long or really ever try to get to know me. We live in such a superficial world, where people don’t try if it’s not easy or fast.

Is it so wrong to want be accepted as I am, not to have to pretend to not be me from the people I surround myself with? Is it really wrong to want to be accepted for who I am and that it be okay for me to just be me around those who claim to be my friends?

I feel I have to keep myself in a box most of the time because the world cannot handle me as I am. I’m not hard to get along with, I don’t go around trying to hurt anyone or be mean, but I also don’t conform, which seems hard for people to want to be around. I think it’s okay for me and others to have different ideas and opinions but the other’s don’t seem to agree with that.

So if I could have a tunnel to anywhere on Earth, it would be to where people existed who accepted me for me and I could let myself out of the box. Everyone in this place could be themselves, no pretending their something they are not. It would be a safe place for acceptance and love, no judgement, where I could be me and you could be you.

http://dailypost.wordpress.com/dp_prompt/tunnel-vision/

 

2 thoughts on “I’ll be Me and You be You

  1. Dear Heidi,
    Nice post. I am sure you are a nice person and are well liked. It is better to be you than to be what others want you to be. You are uniquely created with unique DNA. So you are special and let no one tell you any different. And your post is special too.

Leave a Reply

