In for a Quickie or a Long-Term


Daily Prompt: A Bookish Choice

A literary-minded witch gives you a choice: with a flick of the wand, you can become either an obscure novelist whose work will be admired and studied by a select few for decades, or a popular paperback author whose books give pleasure to millions. Which do you choose?

The daily prompt leaves me a little torn on how to answer. As a student who just finished school with a big student loan debt load to dispatch, I would have to say be a popular paperback author enjoyed by millions sounds like a great choice. The lure of the cash draws me in to relieve myself of this large monkey on my back but I am happier with the idea of being loved well by a few who truly love and know me than being popular for the moment and forgotten in an instant when the next best thing comes along.

Having loved and read so many books, I don’t care about the difference between hardcover or paperback. Hardcover certainly carries its prestige and people look up to hardcovers but I smile as I think of all the dog-eared little paperback novels that have brought me company along the way. Both have transported me to other times, places and more adventures than I can count. But I have to admit, it is often the classics, the old worn hardback novels read several times over that have left the lasting impressions in my mind.

I have always been a behind the scenes type of person, who gets things done in obscurity while others tend to shine with the fame and glory. While I am not scared of the spotlight, I have seen the fickleness of the spotlight turn dark on many who have outlived their 15 minutes of fame. We live in a world where attention spans rarely last more than a few minutes before people move on to something new.

I think I would rather be an oldie, but a goodie who lingers on, loved and enjoyed for a lifetime or more. Being popular would certainly be the cure for my cash flow but over the long haul, what really matters?

For me, the answer is simple, love is always more important than winning the popularity contest. And while it may not solve my cash flow problems in the beginning, I have faith the long-haul will win out and everything will work out just fine.

http://dailypost.wordpress.com/dp_prompt/a-bookish-choice/

Leave a Reply

