Books vs. the Kindle


The wonder and joy of opening a book or flipping through the slick glossy pages of a magazine bring an excitement to my heart that can not be matched by the feeling of unlocking my Kindle for a read.

I do so enjoy my Kindle, the convenience and size that makes it so easy to carry along for a trip. The ease of taking along 30 or more books, something for every occasion just packed so nicely in my purse. It’s all quite nice, but it’s just not the same as feeling the weight of a book resting gently in my hands, as I scan the pages, devouring the words as I lose myself in the adventure at hand.

I love resting in a relaxing bath filled with bubbles and warm water, discovering a new place or story. My Kindle does not get to join me for this most personal time of enjoyment because it is not made to withstand the heat and steam from the bath and God only forbid that I drop it. Instead, I being along the latest book or magazine that has caught my fancy.

I also love the trips to the bookstore where I wander the aisles searching out the perfect stack of bond pages. The cookbooks tempt me with tasty creations. The novels promise many hours of interesting flights of fancy. The non-fiction offers me views into the lives of others. Humor, romance, self-enrichment, Sci-Fi and so many more topics line the shelves, just waiting to be read.

So while I do love my modern technology and the automation of being able to carry 100s of books along with me with the ease of picking up my Kindle and dropping it into my bag, it still does not pair to the joy of holding a book, smelling the ink, seeing the beautiful colors of the pictures and fonts, while flipping the pages one by one, following the words as they lead me further into the journey of the written word.

Daily Post: Homemade Tales

Automation has made it possible to produce so many objects — from bread to shoes — without the intervention of human hands (assuming that pressing a button doesn’t count). What things do you still prefer in their traditional, handmade version?

http://dailypost.wordpress.com/dp_prompt/handmade-tales/

4 thoughts on “Books vs. the Kindle

  1. I completely agree: holding a book in your hand has a charm of its own, one that the efficiency of a Kindle has been unable to displace (for me at least) as yet.

Leave a Reply

