Honesty: The Best Policy for Growth


There’s a couple of things in life that can just piss me off at the world. The first being dishonest people and the second being hypocritical ones. Combine the two and it’s really bad.

I’m the type of person who is pretty honest, sometimes brutally so. It’s not on purpose that I hurt feelings occasionally, but I’m just sometimes a little too blunt and haven’t learned the art of sugar-coating things. I also tend to speak the truth and so many people really don’t want to hear the truth. They would rather live in a world of denial and fake platitudes then face the truth.

I’m just not into people who want to spread their business out to the world and when someone says something they don’t like, the first thing out of their mouth is “you don’t know me.” Well my response to that is, apparently you knew me well enough to voice all your dirty laundry to me, if you didn’t want an honest response then maybe you shouldn’t have told it all to me.

I’m just not going to sit there and lie to my friends. If you don’t want my opinion on something, then don’t ask for it because I’m going to tell you what I see and hear and sometimes it’s not always rainbows and sugar cookies. I’m not the type of friend who is going to tell you what you want to hear, I’m going to be honest with you.

I also want the same from you. I don’t want you to tell me I’m doing everything good when I’m fucking up. Tell me I’m fucking up! Of course, it may be your opinion or I may truly be fucking up but at least by hearing that, I can stop and think for a moment, cause sometimes friends see things way before you do.

But also don’t expect to be able to tell me I’m fucking up and you not expect the same. And don’t put me in a situation where it’s just not a good place to talk. Be fair about it and expect to hear my opinions, thoughts and feelings as well or it’s just not going to work. I’m not into people who think it’s ok for them to voice what they think and not hear out the other person as well.

And be honest with yourself. I am! Sometimes it’s the hardest thing to do, is to look at yourself and be honest about something that is going on. To often any issues you may have are your own, not the other person’s and while it’s hard to look at one’s self and be honest about faults, we all are better people when we do.

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

