Conversation Allowed


I have to laugh a little at the daily prompt, Middle Seat. Once I was seated in the middle seat on a plane and the person on one side of me wanted to talk to the person on the other side of me, but they didn’t want to include me in the conversation. I offered to let one of them switch seats with me, but neither wanted to do that. So I ended up sitting through a 4 hour flight with the two of them talking across me and me being ignored. Not only did I feel it was extremely rude but I couldn’t get a new seat because the plane was completely full. To make matters even worse, it was the most boring conversation ever and I couldn’t focus on reading the wonderful best seller I had brought along for the trip.

Personally, I don’t mind talking to people. I’m the type of person who makes friends in the line at the grocery store, or I used to anyway. Moving to Denver was an eye-opener cause people here look at you like you’re crazy if you have a little conversation while standing in line. That being said, I’m not the overly chatty person sitting next to you but I will offer conversation if the opportunity is open.

The only time that I’m not open to conversation with others is if I’m not feeling well or I really don’t like the topic of conversation. Beyond that, depending on the conversation, I am happy to supply some small talk and see where things go and who knows, I might find another interesting person to add to the friend category. My philosophy is, if you never try and choose to stay closed off to the world, you’ll never know what wonderful person or opportunity you missed out on.

_____________________________________________________________

Daily Prompt: Middle Seat

It turns out that your neighbor on the plane/bus/train (or the person sitting at the next table at the coffee shop) is a very, very chatty tourist. Do you try to switch seats, go for a non-committal brief small talk, or make this person your new best friend?

http://dailypost.wordpress.com/dp_prompt/middle-seat/

7 thoughts on “Conversation Allowed

  1. How awkward for you! That must have been terribly uncomfortable. They were very rude. I enjoyed your post.

Leave a Reply

