Daily Prompt: Full Disclosure


Prompt: A mad scientist friend offers you a chip that would allow you to know what the people you’re talking to are thinking. The catch: you can’t turn it off. Do you accept the chip?

I would have to say “Heck no, I don’t want to know what’s going on someone else’s head.” It’s hard enough keeping up with what is going on in my head.

There’s so many times I wish I could shut my brain down from thinking and stop the internal voices from talking. I’m the type of person who is always thinking, analyzing, and working on the things going on around such as how to solve the world’s problems. My brain even works while I’m asleep because I have woken up plenty of times in the middle of the night with a solution to whatever it was I was working on. The rare moments of silence are treasured like the way many people treasure prize possessions.

I’ve tried mediation, yoga, all sorts of calming techniques, even a drug or two. The thoughts keep coming. The best I can do is train them to be positive instead of negative or I would drive myself crazy. Maybe with enough time and effort I really would be able to find the solution to the world’s problems although I’m pretty sure I already found that solution.

It requires the entire human population to wake up, start caring about things besides themselves and for honest communication between everyone to happen. That being said, I still don’t want to know what’s going on inside everyone’s head.

http://dailypost.wordpress.com/dp_prompt/full-disclosure/

Leave a Reply

