Users, Not Friends


I’ve noticed that many of the people I call “friends” only speak to me when they have a problem, want something, need an ego stroke or when it’s convenient for them.  These are many of the people I care about and have supported their hopes, ideas and dreams and when they are sick or just down in spirits.  They are never interested in what’s going on in my life or even make attempts to find out what’s going on in my world.  When I need help or support, they are never available.

I’ve come to realize these people are not friends but instead self-centered people who only give a damn about themselves.  I’ve decided it’s time to give my love, caring, friendship and loyalty to those people who deserve it, those who are willing to spend the time and effort getting to know me and caring about my hopes, dreams and goals as well, not just their own.

After all, a one-sided friendship really isn’t a friendship at all, it’s just someone using someone else.  I’m moving forward with my goals to surround myself by loving people, who are willing to love and care for me as I am for them.  I’m looking for people who want to be part of my life not just be around for when it benefits them.

Leave a Reply

