Why Wait Until New Years?


Why is it that people seem to feel that they have to wait for the start of a new year to change something about themselves or to try to do things better.  I have found that most people who look towards New Year’s resolutions to change something or make something better about themselves rarely succeed.  They only take the idea to heart for a few weeks until they slip back into their old ways as life takes over and time passes.

Why not work to better yourself all year-long?  I believe that if you really believe in your heart that something needs to change about yourself and that you need to do better, you should get to work on it when you realize that it is something that needs to be done.  By waiting until one time a year to work on things just sets you up to fail because it is something that wasn’t really all that important to you anyway.  If it was important you would have started to work on it the minute you figured out the problem, not waited.  It is kind of like the people who are bad all week and think that they are God’s gift to this planet because they go to church on Sunday and pretend to be a good person, asking for forgiveness for what they have done, then turn around on Monday and go back to the way they operate during the week.  Or those that run around thinking they are better than everyone else. 

I’m hoping that this year is going to be a better year than last year.  I’m working hard on rebuilding me and getting myself back up to the person that I love about myself.  The fun-loving, caring person who is not intimated by anyone and knows that she is worth the time and effort.  I’m working on continuing to find me and improve myself in any way that I can.  I am also going to work on surrounding myself with positive people who love me for who I am and not believe that I am less than enough for them.  I am going to work on the “I am what is right with the world” plan 🙂

Leave a Reply

