Reality Is Me First


I would love to be the princess in the fairy tale where everything always has a happily ever after ending.  To be able to stand on top of the mountain top and shout “I am Queen of the World.”  To just have pure unadulterated love and acceptance from someone who really and truly wanted me and to build a life, goals, and dreams with me.  But then reality kicks in like a cold wet blanket and I realize that my dreams and fairy tales are just illusions.  Reality is learning to do and be everything on your own.  It’s learning that to be the Queen of the World can only be gotten through me.  That no one else really cares all that much about your feelings, dreams, and goals as much as you do. 

It’s hard for me to think of myself first, it’s something that I have struggled with.  I have always taken care of the people around me and hoped that they would take care of me in return but it really doesn’t work that way. Like everyone says, you have to put your own air mask on first. It doesn’t mean that I still don’t care for others, that is just part of me.  It just means that if I really want something, I have to stop putting others before myself to get my hopes, dreams, and goals in life.

Leave a Reply

