The Truth Does Not Remain Buried


This quote struck home today, as I am still trying to find answers for ways to deal with the fact that my family has no wish to acknowledge the abuse and neglect in my childhood.  It is not that I want to keep bringing up the past and keep hammering at it.  I just want for all of us to sit down and talk about it, for them to admit that it happened, and to stop sweeping all the bad stuff under the rug and pretending that it never happened.  It is something that I need to happen, but since it does not seem like it is going to be possible, I am seeking other ways to find peace with it all. 

The truth about our childhood is stored up in our body, and although we can repress it, we can never alter it.  Our intellect can be deceived, our feelings manipulated, our conceptions confused, and our body tricked with medication.  But someday our body will present its bill, for it is as incorruptible as a child who, still while in spirit, will accept no compromise or excuses, and it will not stop tormenting us until we stop evading the truth.

 ~Alice Miller~

One thought on “The Truth Does Not Remain Buried

  1. just want to say that you have a very cool blog. was just surfing around and found your site. cool stuff and nice post. bookmarked and will come back later

Leave a comment